Wednesday, 9 May 2018

CAOT-BC 3rd Annual OT Day at the Legislature

CAOT-BC hosted the 3rd Occupational Therapy Day at the Legislature on May 7th, 2018. With a delegation of 13 CAOT-BC representatives, CAOT-BC hosted an open house for Ministers and MLAs and followed by attendance at question period. This was an excellent opportunity to engage Ministers and MLAs in discussions related to the critical role occupational therapy plays in the health and well-being of British Columbians and to highlight and advocate the need to strengthen our BC workforce.

We would like to thank Minister of Health Adrian Dix for welcoming us and his warm introduction of the delegation in the legislature [start time 01:36:20pm].

Occupational Therapy Representatives 

We would also like to express our gratitude to the CAOT-BC members who made up the volunteer delegation and to all members who contacted their MLAs to invite them to the open house. Your invitations made a significant difference as seen by the record number of RSVPs this year including 14 Ministers, 20 MLAs and 13 additional ministerial staff. 

Volunteer delegation:

  • Tracy Adams - Vancouver Coastal Health, Mental Health & Addiction Intervention Practice Network
  • Dr. Skye Barbic – University of British Columbia
  • Meredith Blinkhorn – CAOT-BC Fieldwork Student (UBC MOT)
  • Jeanette Boily – Vancouver Coastal Health
  • Jeff Boniface – UBC graduate student
  • Laura Bulk - Chair, CAOT-BC Advisory Committee
  • Nicole Crampton – Northern Health
  • Stephanie Glegg - Knowledge Broker Facilitator, Sunny Hill Health Centre for Children
  • Amit Kumar – CAOT-BC Private Practice Business Network
  • Allison Patterson – Vancouver Island Health, CAOT-BC Advisory Committee
  • Michelle Pidduck – Interior Health

BC Government
We heard positive feedback from those in attendance including:
  • Hon. Adrian Dix (Minister of Health)
  • Hon. Judy Darcy (Minister of Mental Health & Addictions)
  • Hon. David Eby (Attorney General)
  • Hon. Melanie Mark (Minister of Advanced Education, Skills & Training)
  • Hon. Doug Donaldson (Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource & Rural Development)
  • MLA Anne Kang (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Health on Seniors)
  • MLA Mitzi Dean (Esquimalt - Metchosin)
  • MLA Simon Gibson (Abbotsford - Mission)
  • MLA Leonard Krog (Nanaimo)
  • MLA Ronna-Rae Leonard (Courtenay-Comox)
  • MLA Norm Letnick (Kelowna – Lake Country)
  • MLA Jane Thornthwaite (North Vancouver – Seymour) 
  • MLA Laurie Throness (Chilliwack – Kent)
  • MLA Linda Larson (Boundary – Similkameen) 
  • MLA Joan Isaacs (Coquitlam – Burke Mountain)
  • MLA Ben Stewart (Kelowna – West) 
  • Jeff Groot (Office of Attorney General) 

Looking ahead, CAOT-BC will continue with active engagement with key government and stakeholders to build meaningful government relations to advance on issues that matter to BC occupational therapists.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to stay connected.


No comments:

Post a Comment